Prompt 1

Before reading the four articles, I never really saw children’s literature as a learning tool and I didn’t consider how important it is to the aging of a child. The content that children read could either cause them to grow up sheltered, believing the world is good, or knowledgable about the darker subjects that exist. Censorship was never really an issue with me. My parents allowed me to read whatever content I wanted to so I feel like that has made me grown up more open-minded, but that is also thanks to the internet. Growing up with internet, I was able to just google anything that i didn’t really understand and learn from that. I feel like that’s how many of the people who have grown up during the internet generation feel, as well, Because of this, I think that the controlling power of adults won’t be as strict because the internet is an easy way for children to learn about difficult subjects that their parents might not be able to explain. I also feel like my generation is more open-minded as a whole in a sense that, we’ll allow our children to read about difficult subjects.

Which is why West’s article appealed to me the most. He states on pg 53 about how many authors have begun questioning whether the taboos with children’s literature where still applicable, considering Americans becoming more accepting of subjects, such as sexuality, recently. That is the most accurate way to describe how censorship is slowly becoming irrelevant. Authors are writing books about previously taboo subjects because they want children to learn about them and not sugarcoat their childhood.

Prompt 2

I can honestly say that I have read a majority of those works. The most memorable of them was probably Charlotte’s Web. The text’s were definitely impactful to me as a child, but not in a negative way. When I first read it, Charlotte’s Web made me cry. I hadn’t really learned the concept of death before reading it and when Charlotte died, I was horrified. However, it taught me the circle of life, basically. It definitely opened my eyes to the fact that everything dies, which was scary, but also that it’s just a part of life. I don’t believe that texts can have “too much” information. It’s best to just describe the cold hard truth to children. Sure, it may scare them, but it’ll make them understand the subject better.

The most surprising book on the list, for me, is Captain Underpants. The reasoning behind is being banned is slightly ridiculous, both of which are banned due to some form of “nudity.” The fact that it is banned because the superhero is wearing underpants is way too much censoring. He is still wearing clothing so it shouldn’t be considered nudity at all. In my opinion, there shouldn’t be limits on books at all. Children should learn about real life and not sugarcoated nonsense. I do not think this is an idea that could be adopted globally, however. America has become more open, but there are still countries that are very conservative with clothing or censoring.